Get Busy Finding Rest

dollar-1362244_1920Will all the workaholics reading this post please raise your hand?

The more I work, the more I realize how much of it has become ingrained in who I am. I find it very difficult to unplug and even when I should be unplugging, I’m still thinking about work or worse, I find myself actually checking in with co-workers to make sure nothing has imploded due to my absence.

I never liked the term workaholic, though I think a lot of us find pleasure in defining ourselves that way. There is a sense of urgency, busyness, and importance that comes with the phrase, “I’m a workaholic.” Why is that? Why do we feel that our inability to unplug from work is a positive thing?

It’s as though it’s a scarlet letter we’re honored to wear. We walk around saying we’re too busy for people, but not too busy for more work? We pour our blood, sweat, and tears into something that will only last for a season, yet neglect the people who want to be a part of our lives.

It’s a sad state of affairs when we’re glued to our phone because of work and Pokemon Go, but can’t find time for face-to-face interaction with the people we claim to care about.

And as much as I enjoy feeling busy and productive, there’s nothing glamorous about being a workaholic.

It’s time we stopped glorifying our lack of balance and instead, supported each other in finding a healthy idea of what balance really means.

Manda

2 Comments on “Get Busy Finding Rest

  1. Hand sorta raised.
    Its a hard lesson to learn, especially in todays work environment. We have a tendency to think way too highly of ourselves. That if I am not working, the office will implode. Well reality check, the office will not implode, the work will be there for us tomorrow, and life will go on with or without us. What we need to do is be humbled, and realize our position in this world before Christ. Which means having a balance of making a living in order to work for Christ, just as Paul did. Thinking of Galatians 2:20.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely! I’ve learned the office does not implode upon my absence, though it is nice to feel needed. haha Balance is so key in life. Our culture is one of severe imbalance, so it makes it difficult, but it’s an important thing to have.

      Like

Have a thought? Share it here!

