If someone tells me this one more time…I’m going to slap them.

As I scroll through my Facebook news feed and look at interesting articles online, I can’t help but feel bombarded by articles with these kinds of titles:

You’ll Regret It If You Haven’t Done These 30 Things Before 30
Things To Do Before You’re 30
The 10 things EVERYONE should do before they turn 30

And on and on the list goes. Tonight, I had righteous indignation rise up in me. For those of you who don’t know, I turned 25 two weeks ago. And I won’t lie and say I didn’t have a few moments of slight panic that I’m halfway through this decade.

One article (and I quote) said this about doing things before 30: “…your body physically ages—not to mention your memory begins to decline before age 30—so there’s that. I realize there may be 60-year-olds out there laughing at this, but please, 20-somethings, take a bit of my 30+ wisdom and enjoy every ounce of fun and challenge this decade has to offer you. It’s never too late for any of us, but for you? Nows the time.”

Seriously? My oh my, how encouraging – memory loss and a failure at life if I don’t accomplish all the things you say are important before 30.

Articles like the ones above add to the stress so many 20-somethings feel about getting older. What if I don’t want to read all the classics? What if I hate traveling alone? What if I’m not looking to get married yet? Does this mean I’ve failed at 20-something life if I hit 30 and haven’t accomplished all of these “to-do” lists?

Not at all! And that’s what I vehemently hate about articles like these. Life has given us enough pressure as it is. Why are we allowing the world to dictate what we must “accomplish by 30 or else?”

I have my own list of goals and I can guarantee they don’t all line up with the latest Buzzfeed article. I don’t want to get a tattoo, kiss a random stranger on the street, or change jobs. I want to live MY life, not the life an article tells me I should be living.

Reader, I encourage you to set your own goals. While these articles are fun (and sometimes really good) for inspiring your goals, don’t feel like a failure if you don’t live up to what they say you should do.

Who are they anyway?? 

Live the life you love. Set your goals and take pride in accomplishing what you want for your life, not what some bitter, regretful 30-year old wishes they had done for themselves. And so what if you are 30+? Life doesn’t stop. There’s still SO much to do and enjoy. When did 30 become the beginning of the end?

So reader, the next time I see an article like that, I’m likely to skip right over it. I might be curious and click anyway, but if I do decide to read it, it’ll be because I want to be inspired, not because I feel like I’m going to miss out.

Manda

3 Comments on “If someone tells me this one more time…I’m going to slap them.

  1. Good for you, Manda! It’s silly to think you have to accomplish some random list by some random number of years you’ve lived. I laugh at this because, at 40-something, I continue to learn and grow and experience new things all the time. (And I still have most of my mental faculties intact.) 😉 There is much to look forward to. The best life lived is one unique to you, with the marvelous plan God has chosen for you, yes?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I absolutely agree, Rebeca! It’s sad that throughout life, we’re rushed through it. People ask things like, “When are you getting married?” then it’s “When are you having kids?”, etc. We should be trying to encourage each other to enjoy the present, not rush through it. Thanks so much for stopping by – hope to see more of you around here! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Have a thought? Share it here!

