Don’t Let The Door Hit You On The Way Out

IMG_20160601_210538Please excuse the car selfie. I am quite happy today is the first day of June and I’m about to tell you why.

In a conversation with a co-worker today, I told him I was glad the month of May was over. It was a trying month in more ways than I can count.

From personal things all the way to spiritual things, more went on than I care to share. I learned a lot about myself and about others. May was a month of serious introspection.

I found out that being vulnerable often opens the door for others to allow you in as well. I found that saying, “I need you” to friends is okay and even freeing. And I found that even if someone chooses to walk away, it doesn’t make you any less valuable. It just means they were unable to see your worth.

May was a month of transformation for me. I chose to open up when it was uncomfortable and I learned to be okay with not getting closure. I found out it’s okay to question your purpose and it’s okay to say, “I don’t know.”

I told my co-worker that I’m glad May is over, but I wouldn’t change what I learned. Sometimes it takes your cage being rattled for the bad things to be shaken off and for the good to be revealed. Without going through May, I wouldn’t have learned the things about myself that I learned and I wouldn’t have sought God in a way I haven’t really sought Him before.

When we walk through seasons in life that seem dark or maybe even hopeless, be encouraged in knowing there’s something deeper intended for us to learn. Life happens to us all and many times things happen that we have no control over. But through it all, we can choose to grow and use our circumstances to our betterment.

You might not be able to control your circumstances or the things around you, but you can control how you react.

I encourage you, choose to grow. And when the season is over, you’ll be able to look back and be grateful. Grateful that you grew, grateful that the time wasn’t wasted, and possibly, you may even be grateful that you were given the opportunity to walk through it.

A smooth sea never made a skillful sailor, reader. We’re in this together.

Manda

One Comment on “Don’t Let The Door Hit You On The Way Out

  1. Great post, Manda! Yes we can learn from every situation, nothing is for nothing. God uses trials in our lives to stretch us, to conform us to the image of his Son. For me, the hard part is not having to repeat the lesson, and passing the test the first time. Good for you for learning this at such a young age.

    Liked by 1 person

Have a thought? Share it here!

