Give Me Jesus

OceanToday I escaped. I escaped from work, from interruptions, and from life. I needed time away from the craziness that life brings, time to unplug, and time to just be alone.

With the gorgeous weather we’re having, I decided to escape to the beach. It was emptier than I expected on this Memorial Day weekend, but it was a welcomed surprise.

I’ve had a lot going on in my mind lately – mainly a lot of questions without answers. Am I living out my purpose? What should my next investment be? Why am I surprised when people disappoint me? Is there something I should be doing with my life right now that I’m not? and the list goes on and on.

When I need to think, I often find great solace in going to the beach. I find it comforting to look at something so massive it can’t be contained. Looking at the great expanse of the ocean and not being able to see its end or looking at the grains of sand that could never be counted bring me such peace. I’m reminded of a verse in the Bible that sums up quite well why I feel such peace.

How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! How great is the sum of them! Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand. -Psalm 139:17-18

God’s thoughts toward us outnumber the grains of sand – wow! When I feel alone, unsure, or have doubts, the beach reminds me that my future rests in the hands of a loving God Who has planned for me greater things than I could imagine myself. The same God that crafted this universe is the same God that asks me to trust Him with my future.

I’m in a season where there are a lot of unknowns and a lot of questions I’m asking God. I’m not asking because I doubt Him. I’m asking because I know He has the answers.

Today I escaped to the beach and out of everything I wanted to know, my heart simply cried, “Give me Jesus.” He is all I need. He’ll never leave me, forsake me, or disappoint me. He can be trusted fully with my hopes, dreams, and fears. And He is always faithful to lovingly guide me to the path that’s best.

What sweet, sweet peace is found when we put our trust in Christ Jesus alone.

Manda

 

2 Comments on “Give Me Jesus

  1. Pingback: Like Father, Like Son – happilyme23

Have a thought? Share it here!

