Dinner Dates

DinnerTonight I had dinner with a close friend. I had texted her spur of the moment yesterday evening, expressing that I needed a friend to talk to and asked if she was free. She responded that she was and so, we planned a dinner date.

Now reader, if you know me at all, you know that is so not my typical MO. I usually want people to intuitively know I’m in need of a friend to talk to or that something isn’t quite right. And when they don’t reach out like I hope, I feel disappointed and sometimes even hurt. But over the last few weeks, I’ve been reading and learning about the power and freedom that comes from being vulnerable. I’ve been digging into the beauty of accepting that who I am, is enough.

Being sure of who I am has given me the freedom to be me, to accept me as I am (flaws and all) and even to accept others where they’re at. If something doesn’t work out as planned, I’m learning to go with the flow and simply say, “C’est la vie.”

Reaching out yesterday to express my need and in essence be vulnerable, turned out to be such a good decision. We laughed, we talked, we empathized with each other, and I left feeling refreshed.

Friends are so incredibly good for the soul.

Being vulnerable certainly has its down sides and as I’ve stepped out into this newfound opportunity to be vulnerable, I have also seen that side. In an odd way, it’s made me stronger. I’ve become more confident in who I am and less reliant on caring what others think of me. Knowing who you are will give you more freedom than you might know what to do with.

When you’re sure of who you are, you’re less likely to take offense, be hurt, or hide behind a mask of “security”. When you’re sure of who you are, you’re quicker to forgive others, let things go, and be vulnerable.

I am realizing, I can either live my life pretending I don’t “need” anyone…and in turn, stop people from seeing my heart; or I can open up, be vulnerable, and let the pieces fall where they may. For far too long, I’ve kept people at arm’s distance.

I think it’s about time I let people in.

Manda

2 Comments on “Dinner Dates

Have a thought? Share it here!

