It’s Time To Soar

soaringHave you ever felt like a caged bird? You can see outside the cage, you can sing beautiful songs, and you can communicate with the world around you. They can enjoy your beauty and you can watch what happens outside the cage…but you can’t move from it. You’re stuck inside this chamber. What was once created to protect you, now feels like an entrapment.

That’s how I’ve felt as of late, reader. I’ve been battling an internal struggle over the last 5 months that, hopefully, I’ve hid very well.

Interestingly enough, the weather this morning looked exactly how I felt. Outside, it was sunny and beautiful, but it was incredibly windy. I’m talking 50MPH winds kind of windy. As I stood inside our kitchen, looking out our bay window, I chuckled. I thought to myself, “Gee, that’s exactly how I feel. I look sunny and happy on the outside, but internally I feel like winds are tearing through me.”

And then it happened.

There was a moment where all was silent, except for a still small voice. God lovingly reminded me that it’s my choice what I do with the wind. I could either allow it to destroy me the way wind often does to things in its path, or I could use it to soar the way eagles do.

Out of curiosity, I took a look online to see how exactly eagles behave and how they use wind to their strength. This is what I found: “When the storm hits, eagles set its wings so that the wind will pick it up and lift it above the storm. While the storm rages below, the eagle is soaring above it. The eagle does not escape the storm. It simply uses the storm to lift it higher. It rises on the winds that bring the storm.”

Isaiah 40:31 says, “but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

The last few months was a startling reminder of how quickly I become weak when I try to do things in my own strength, when I try to force things that shouldn’t be, or try to rush things before their time. Instead of focusing on what I can’t control, I should be focusing on what I can.

My relationship with God should be paramount to all else. An eagle doesn’t worry about what people will think. An eagle simply soars.

For months, I forgot that I serve a God whose strength I can rely on, whose grace covers all, and whose mercy is new every morning.

In my striving to be perfect and have my life all figured out, I lost the most important, life-changing detail. I don’t need to be perfect and I don’t need to know it all.

All I need to do, is trust Him.

Manda

One Comment on “It’s Time To Soar

  1. Pingback: Thanks Reader – happilyme23

Have a thought? Share it here!

