Looking Back

ProfileTonight I was working on a spreadsheet for work at 10pm.

Was I stressed? No.

Was I feeling overworked? Not at all.

I worked on it because I knew it was important to certain people in the company and the sooner I could bring clarity by making it, the better. But now that the spreadsheet has been sent and people have been updated, I feel a sense of joy.

As a teen, I couldn’t wait to be an adult and have the freedom adulthood brings. At the time, I didn’t know that would mean a lot of hard work, late nights, early mornings, and sacrifices to prove myself to my employers.

Tonight though, I look back and am in awe. I see the 18-year-old who interned at a tech company her first year of college, who was working at a daycare 15 hours a week and going to school full-time. I see the girl who started as an entry level Technical Support Rep and has grown into the position of Director of Product.

Never in a million years did I see myself doing what I do. It wasn’t even on my mind. I was going to school for business and technology and figured I could use that degree anywhere. Little did I know, God was preparing me specifically for this company.

There are times in my life where I’ve felt stuck and unsure of what my future would hold. Nights like tonight, I’m reminded of the college freshman who was working at a daycare with not a clue as to what her next steps were. And now that I look back, I can utter only two words: Only God.

Only God could take someone with no tech background, no resume, no real experience and put me at a job that would become my career. Only God could place me at a company that treats their employees like valued individuals with bosses who not only teach and lead, but are also friends. Only God could place me in an internship – one in which I never interviewed nor submitted a resume for, only to have them offer me a position within days of beginning.

Only God, reader.

Sometimes I forget how God has worked in my life. Sometimes in the midst of the crazy, it’s easy to take my eyes off Him and somehow have this misconception that I’ve done this on my own. Yes, I had to work hard and yes, I had to give my best to get where I am – but without His loving hand guiding my steps, this opportunity never would have happened. The most amazing thing, is that I applied to work at a local summer camp when I was a teen and they didn’t have an opening. Then they told me they had an opening at the daycare if I was interested. That daycare is where I met the executive assistant to my bosses and because of the relationship I cultivated with her over the years, when I told her I was looking for an internship, she immediately thought of her company.

That was 6 years ago. And as they say, the rest is history.

They say God works in mysterious ways..but truth be told, I don’t know if I believe that. It may seem mysterious to us, but it’s not to Him. He knows exactly what’s best and He knows the best way to get us there. All we need to do, is trust Him.

My prayer for you is that as you look back on these seasons in your life, that you would see His hand and that someday you too would be able to say: Only God.

Manda

One Comment on “Looking Back

  1. What a great testimony to our Great God! I agree with you, I see the hand of God all through my life starting as early as 11 years old. I know he guides and causes circumstances in his creation to bring about his purpose, for his glory, which is why you are now giving him the glory! I enjoyed your post, Manda!

    Like

Have a thought? Share it here!

