Let’s Give Them Something To Talk About

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 11.18.55 PMI came to the decision tonight that there’s freedom in not caring what people think.

Unfortunately though, I have always been one to care what others think. I put effort into my appearance, partially for me but also because I question how others will see me. I resist from sharing my full heart in fear of what someone might think or do. I play out series of events in my mind to figure out how it will appear to others before I decide what action to take.

And while I do think it’s important to take care of yourself, abstain from the appearance of evil, and do your best to be kind to the thoughts and opinions of others, I have also begun to realize that for a long time now, I believe I’ve cared a little too much.

In the past, I’ve changed certain things about myself in order to try to make others happy. I haven’t been fake, but I would resist from saying or doing certain things because I wanted to appease those around me.

The truth though, reader, is that people will think what they want. Whether there’s something to be thought or there isn’t, people will always have an opinion about what you should or shouldn’t be doing.

And you know what?

They’re 100% free to. Just the same way I’m free to not run my life by their opinions or desires.

At the end of the day, YOU need to be happy with the person you are. When your head rests on your pillow at night, are you content? Are you happy with the person you’ve become?

If you strive to please people, not only will you find that you’ll never be able to please everyone, but you will lose your true self in the process.

So…here’s to freeing myself from the chains of the opinions of others that I’ve willingly allowed myself to be imprisoned by. I’ve cared for too long what others think and have allowed that to dictate portions of my life, instead of boldly deciding what I’m going to do and letting the chips fall where they may.

Reader, don’t allow the opinions of others to dictate your life. Be who you are – some will love it and some will hate it.

And I’ve finally decided, that’s okay.

Manda

Have a thought? Share it here!

