Hindsight Isn’t Always 20/20

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 10.14.17 PMThis week flew by. I feel as though I blinked and it was over. For Pete’s sake, I can’t even believe that January is over. Were we not JUST celebrating the New Year, texting friends and family good wishes and setting resolutions?

I’ve been in a very introspective mood this past week, if you couldn’t tell from one of my recent posts. I’m thankful to say, my spirit has since been lifted, though I am still in deep thought over more recent events.

Lately, I’ve been wishing I could relive a day or two. In my mind, I have been, but I wish I could go back to these one or two days and change what was said, or really, what wasn’t.

Ever have that moment, reader? You realize there’s so much you wish you could’ve said that you weren’t able to or maybe, that you didn’t realize you should’ve at the time. Maybe a loved one passed away before you had the chance to say what was on your heart or maybe time just went by so quickly that the opportunity to say those things was no longer there.

It’s so tempting to live in the past – to look back with regret at what we did or didn’t say or did or didn’t do. It’s healthy to not forget the past, but we also need to conscientiously move forward. I’m thankful that moving forward doesn’t mean leaving people behind, it simply means that everyone involved gets the opportunity to grow. Sometimes that growing brings people closer together and sometimes it carries them apart – but the beauty is that everyone still grows.

As C.S. Lewis so perfectly said it, “There are far, far better things ahead, than any we leave behind.”

Don’t keep checking the rearview mirror, friend. Sometimes what you’re looking for, is right in front of you.

Manda

 

2 Comments on “Hindsight Isn’t Always 20/20

Have a thought? Share it here!

