Looking Back

Looking back on when I, was a little nappy headed boy….

Wait, what? 

Sorry, you caught me singing along to Stevie Wonder as I was reminiscing. I was going through old Facebook posts tonight and a thought hit me.

As a teen, we feel like we’re adults. We want the authority of being an adult, without the responsibility. Then one day we wake up, and realize that we’re no longer the naive teenager who thought that Myspace was the “bees knees.” We also have the startling realization that we really were as ignorant about life as everyone said we were.

Slowly, we mature into adults. We hit 18 and think “I’ve made it! I’m officially an adult!”. Then college starts and you feel like that silly teenager all over again, except now you can drive. Then college graduation happens and you start a real job and think, “Now, I’ve  really made it.”

The first business meeting is called and you suggest an idea that you think is genius, only to be told it won’t work. You stumble, you fall, you learn. You begin to realize that life is full of mistakes, but it’s also full of great reward.

Present day, I’m only a few months away from being at my job for 6 years. In that period of time, I’ve failed, made mistakes, and grown more than I could’ve ever imagined. I went from being a teenage college intern to running multiple teams of people and being the “go-to” person when someone has a question.

I still don’t know it all, but I can honestly say that that’s a good feeling. Knowing I don’t know it all and recognizing the amazing and talented people I’m surrounded by whom I can learn from, is what makes my life (and my job) wonderful.

Sometimes there are days that I wish I could go back and tell my teenage self to enjoy life and not worry so much about becoming an adult. Truth be told though, I wouldn’t trade my adult years for anything. I love being an adult. I love learning. And I love this crazyamazingwild journey that I get to partake in.

Love your life, reader. You only get one.

Manda

 

Have a thought? Share it here!

