The Beautiful Sacrifice

I don’t know how moms do it. I had a taste of it today and boy oh boy, do I have a new appreciation for moms.

Screen shot 2015-09-21 at 10.31.28 PM

My day started off at midnight, with our little foster baby waking me from my sleep by screaming the word “SHOES”. She was sound asleep, but as any true female does, she must’ve been dreaming about shoes. Kid you not folks, that was the word she shouted. Throughout the night, I heard her tossing and turning and thus, didn’t get the best night of sleep myself.

I went about starting my day at 7:30am and was running nonstop until now, 9:30pm, where I’m finally getting some “me” time. From a 6 hour long meeting at work, to coming home and playing “mommy” to two little ones until they went to sleep, I’m fairly certain I’ll sleep quite well tonight.

In the midst of it all though, it makes me question my lifelong desire to be a stay-at-home mom. I can honestly say, I never fully appreciated the sacrifice my mom made, until we started fostering. For years, I always thought how nice it must be to be home all day with your kids. And while I absolutely adore our foster children, I also love my job. I can’t imagine being home all day and not going to work or not spending 8+ hours of my day with other adults.  But then again, I also know when the day comes to be married and have children of my own, I won’t want to be anywhere else but with them.

I apologize if all of this sounds a bit scattered – I’m currently working off of minimal sleep and can feel it starting to kick in.

My point, I suppose, is that I’ve recognized while I someday will want to have children of my own and be home to raise them, I have a newfound appreciation for moms who give up a large part of their life to raise their children. To a degree, I do believe it’s a sacrifice made, but it’s also one that comes with great reward. I’m so grateful my mom was able to be home for us children and I hope to someday also give my children that same security of knowing that mom is always there.

To moms everywhere: Thank you for the sacrifices you make for your children. You are appreciated!

Manda

 

2 Comments on “The Beautiful Sacrifice

  1. Thank you for that tribute to moms! There are many of us who were professionals who chose (and sacrificed) to be stay at home moms. In today’s culture, sadly, it is a choice that many do not view in a positive light. Thank you for recognizing all that moms do. Wonderful post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by Tara! You are one of the many moms who I find amazing. There is no greater calling than to raise Godly children. For by raising Godly children, you are sowing into their eternal destiny. Love you!

      Like

Have a thought? Share it here!

