Healing Hearts

Screen shot 2015-09-05 at 8.44.53 PMWhen our first two foster children (Little and Littlest as I nicknamed them), came to us over a year ago, I was sure my heart had reached it’s capacity to love. They grabbed a hold of my heart, and to this day, a large part of my heart still belongs to them.

Once they left us, months went by before we agreed to take in any other children. Our hearts were too raw from the pain of saying goodbye, to be able to pour into more children right away. When we finally said yes to taking in more children, I was certain that while I would love them, I wouldn’t be able to love them the way I did our first two. But I did, and I do.

Now, we have our fifth child with us. In so many ways, she reminds me of my precious Little. I put her to bed tonight and put on the same music I used to play for Little. She usually goes right to sleep, but tonight, she held onto me. She rested her head on my shoulder and just let me hug her. It was as though she knew the pain in my heart, as I briefly relived my memories of Little and Littlest.

Sometimes I forget that during this time of fostering, these children aren’t the only ones who need help healing. There are times I’m reminded, I’m still healing too. And tonight, our new foster toddler helped heal a little more of my aching heart.

Sometimes the littlest moments, are the ones that you remember for a lifetime. Tonight was one of them.

Manda

One Comment on “Healing Hearts

  1. Pingback: One Word Changed A Life | happilyme23

Have a thought? Share it here!

