Just Keep Breathing

Screen shot 2015-08-31 at 9.41.21 PMLet’s talk stress for a moment, shall we? The past few weeks were more insane than I could’ve imagined. If it could go wrong, it seemingly felt like it did.

From someone backing into my car and damaging it (thankfully only slightly), to an entire bottle of water spilling in my bag – which contained my cell phone and laptop, to finding out I need to drill through my investment property’s kitchen floor and cement slab to fix a pipe, I was just about at my limit.

Last week, I was at my investment property and cried more than I’d like to admit. I was so beyond stressed that I thought I might just have a nervous breakdown. The day before, I had been laid out in bed with the worst headache I had ever had, most likely brought on by stress.

I share all of this to say, we are capable of handling more than we ever think possible. There is always a light at the end of the tunnel, even when you’re dead center in the middle of it. I’m so thankful for my family who stood by me and helped me through this season. My dad was once again my knight in shining armor as he talked plumbing lingo with my plumber and helped me assemble a team to fix this pipe (and drill through my floor….). I honestly don’t know what I would’ve done without my parents and the faith I have in God. I know God didn’t cause any of this, because all good and perfect gifts come from Him.

However, I can thank Him for walking me through what we call life. Things happen, sometimes they’re bad things – like spilling water on $1,500 worth of electronics. And sometimes they’re good things – like the fact my phone and laptop weren’t damaged. Thank God. 

We can’t always avoid what life brings us – but how we react to it is fully in our control. In the beginning, I let the stress overwhelm and get the best of me. Now that I’m almost through it, I’m still stressing a bit, but I can at least smile through it and breathe at a normal heart rate.

There is always a light at the end of the tunnel, reader. Just keep walking until you get there.

I promise, you will.

Manda

Have a thought? Share it here!

