Do You Have A Boyfriend?

Screen shot 2015-08-29 at 11.21.09 PMApparently, this is the question of the decade, as this is one of the most common questions I’ve been asked in my 20’s.

And today, it was a question I had to answer, multiple times. What I really love though, is the reaction I get when I respond.

Have you ever gotten that look from someone? You know, the kind you get when they ask if you’re dating anyone and you say, “Nope, I’m single” with a smile.

They give you this pity look, as if to say that they don’t really believe you could possibly be happy being single.

Please allow me to be the first to say, while I wouldn’t argue with God if I met my future husband tomorrow, I truly am enjoying this season. I’m not in a rush to date, get married, or start a family. This is the only time in my life where I don’t need to be thinking about a husband or my children. I can come and go as I please, take up as much of the bed and covers as I want, and I don’t need to clear my investments with anyone but my bank account.

And honestly, I love it.

Enjoy the season you’re in reader. Don’t allow others to pressure you into feeling inadequate because you’re not living up to their expectations. What’s right for them may not be right for you and in the end, you need to be content with your choices.

I’d much rather wait and marry God’s best, than marry in haste and regret it for my lifetime.

So, the next time someone asks me if I’m single, my answer will be a resounding, “Yes, and I love it.” And I’ll chuckle to myself as I watch the disbelief wash over their face.

Don’t believe me? Just watch. 😉

Manda

2 Comments on “Do You Have A Boyfriend?

  1. Kuiet Storm here. And gurl, I’m in the same boat. I’m 23 and never been in a relationship yet. But it’s OK. #SingleSwag. Be sure to check out my blog at kuietstorm.org.

    Like

    • I love that hashtag! Good for you for not feeling pressured. Relationships are awesome, no doubt, but it saves so much heartache when you wait for the right relationship, instead of being in one just to so-called “fit in”. Kudos to you for waiting. Keep the #singleswag going girl. =)

      Like

Have a thought? Share it here!

