Quiet Desperation

Screen shot 2015-08-26 at 11.05.44 PMHe sat there on his bench, alone. He tried to smile and make eye contact with those who passed, but they ignored him and pretended as though he wasn’t even there. He felt like a fly – like a nuisance to those around him, even though he had done nothing except attempt to be friendly. He remembered the days he and his wife would walk to the park together and sit on this very same bench. Except now, it was just him. She had passed away a few years ago and he dearly missed her. Though alone, he still walked to that same park every day and sat on that same bench. Oh how he wished a friendly face would smile back. Heck, he’d call it miraculous if someone just whispered “Hello”. 


Often we dismiss or purposefully ignore the people around us, who are crying out in silent desperation. Sometimes it’s because it makes us uncomfortable and sometimes it’s because we just don’t notice it. So many, young and old, are quietly drowning in their own hopelessness, left to feel alone because no one is reaching out.

Reader, tonight I ask you – who do you know who is silently drowning? If your answer is I don’t know, I’d say it means you haven’t asked. Everyone is in need of a friend. If you think that someone has it all together or that they don’t need anyone, you may want to start with inviting that same person out for lunch or for coffee. Often the ones that look like they have it all together, are the very same ones most in need of a friend.

I encourage you to find at least one person who is in need. Reach out and extend a friendly invitation. You might be amazed at what you find.

Manda

3 Comments on “Quiet Desperation

  1. i really cried after reading this post because it identifies with me. I siffer from depression in big
    Part because I feel very lonely. I do not have close friends. All my life has been marked by achievements but also disappointments. I always need that sense of companionship and feeling loved by people because I just feel very lonely. I live a difficult life not because I’m incapable of doing things but because of some challenges My family and I cannot control. It’s a long story.
    Sometimes I wish I could not show the best of me from the outside to other people but to tell them how desperate I am in need of friends. Sometimes It could be easier but think my depression makes feel so isolated in a dark environment in my house which stops me from having the strength to go out and meet people. It’s not easy I am afraid but I also know that I have a light inside me that is truly capable of anything. I hope if anyone reads this that many people all around are fighting very hard for so Many things.

    Like

    • My heart goes out to you! I wish I could give you a big hug and tell you that everything will be okay. You are brave and strong. God loves you so much and has so many incredible plans for you and a purpose for your life. You are not destined to live in depression, you have a purpose that only you can fulfill. I’d encourage you to read Jeremiah 29:11 (online or in a Bible if you have one). It’s such a beautiful and inspiring verse to see the kind of life God truly has for us. I’m also here for you. You are not alone – don’t ever, for a second, believe that you are alone. You have family who loves you and a community here. ❤

      Like

  2. Thank you for your great uplifting words. I’m trying to get back to church and get close to God again. But I am afraid and I don’t know how to start. Thank you for sharing the word of the Bible. I like to believe I’m not lone but it’s very hard and every time I try I feel disappointed. But I do not and will not give up.

    Like

Have a thought? Share it here!

