On Taking a Risk

What happens when you’re given a challenge, an opportunity to rise to the occasion, that you don’t feel capable of? Do you shrink back or do you dive in?

By nature, I’m not a risk-taker. I mean, I am, but I’m not. Some could say buying investment property in my early twenties was a big risk, but to me, it wasn’t. It was a wise investment. Some could say that I was crazy to intern at a technology company when I was being offered another job in my freshman year of college. Had I listened to those people who thought I was making a bad move, I wouldn’t be with this same amazing company 5+ years later.

Sometimes we take risks that, at the time, we don’t realize are risks. And thus, the nerves and the concern aren’t nearly as magnified. But what do we do when we are handed a challenge, bigger than we ever imagined, and told by someone we respect, “I believe you can handle this.”

In those moments, we feel honored and accomplished. Then, the overwhelming thought of when can I be in private so I can FREAK OUT!? sets in. We battle between the world of being an official adult and yet, feeling as though we’re still a little child on the inside.

Do we ever really outgrow feeling like little kids playing dress-up? I’m not sure that I ever will. There are moments where that inner child sees glimpses of adulthood and feels like an adult, and then there are days I look in the mirror and see my 15-year-old self staring back.

These are the times I’m grateful for the people who believe in me, even when I don’t fully believe in myself.

Surround yourselves with people who build you up, reader. They are invaluable. They will be the ones cheering you on from the sidelines when the clock is counting down and you’re not sure you’ll make it. They’ll also be the ones celebrating with you when you attain what you once thought was unreachable.

To those who have come alongside me, past and present, thank you.

Keep moving forward, reader. Don’t let fear of the unknown hold you back. As the saying goes, “A smooth sea never made a skillful sailor.”

Manda

One Comment on “On Taking a Risk

  1. Pingback: You Get Out What You Put In | happilyme23

Have a thought? Share it here!

