Vacation Quandaries

I am less than 20 days away from a week vacation. When I tell you that I am excited, that’s an understatement. My body is so in need of rest, relaxation, and SUN! The sub zero temperatures have me cringing when I think about putting on a bathing suit. Then, I remember that when I do, it’ll be 75 degrees and sunny.

Additionally though, I’m feeling as most every woman feels in March. Our bodies naturally put on a couple extra pounds when it’s cold and it’s very difficult to take weight off in preparation for summer, when it’s still so cold. With the countdown nearing an end, I’m putting just a little extra effort into eating right, working out, and staying away from things that don’t benefit my body.

After just a day of watching closely what I’m eating and stopping when I’m satisfied (not full), I’m already seeing my body begin to work with me. Every time I want to reach for that piece of chocolate or eat that extra portion, I’m going to do my best to be thinking about this:

Screen shot 2015-02-22 at 8.33.37 AMI keep imagining myself sitting by the pool, soaking up the sun, laughing with some wonderful girlfriends, and allowing my mind and body to unplug from work and my “to-do” list.

Do you have vacation plans that you are mentally counting down the days for? It’s healthy to anticipate and plan for time to unwind. So important, in fact, that my recent blog post talks about how to relax and unwind even when vacation plans are not in the near future.

So here’s an age old question for my readers: What travel/packing tips do you live by when heading on a vacation to make the process less stressful?

Have a great Sunday readers!

Manda

Have a thought? Share it here!

