It All Adds Up

She stood inside the cozy and warm house, watching as the world stood silent. The snowflakes were the only noise outside. It was as though the animals had taken shelter from the bitter cold as the snowflakes danced through the sky.

_________________________________________________________________________________

This was my vantage point just a couple nights ago, as snowstorm Juno pounded the East Coast. I stood inside my house and looked out of my back door to our backyard, admiring how peacefully still the night was. I thought to myself, “It’s amazing how such small snowflakes can add up to so much snow!”. Then it hit me.

Life is like that.

Every small decision we make, adds up to something. Whether it’s getting the salad at Ruby Tuesday instead of the hamburger, or saying no to buying that Starbucks coffee because you’re saving for a house – every small decision you make, adds up somewhere. It either adds up in the “Positive” or “Negative” bank.

What are you goals and dreams, reader? Are you saving for a house? Are you investing in yourself now, so that you’ll be a better spouse down the road? Are you taking good care of your body now, so that you can enjoy life well into your 80’s and 90’s?

I have not perfected this, by any means, but I am thankful to say that I grew up in a family that valued preparation. I can look back on so much of my life and see the investments that were made in my life, whether emotionally, mentally, or spiritually.

In a culture that shouts, “YOLO” and uses that mantra to live recklessly, it’s so important to remember that really, you do only live once in this body, on this earth. Spiritual eternity notwithstanding, this is the only chance you’ll have on this earth, at this time, to make the most of it.

Screen shot 2015-01-28 at 8.16.21 PMDon’t you want to breathe your last breath, knowing you gave it your all? I don’t want to look back on this season and not know what I did with the time I had. I want to be purposeful in who and what I invest time into.

I hope you do too, reader.

Manda

Have a thought? Share it here!

