Peaceful Contentment

Last night, as I sat around our family room talking the night away with some wonderful women, a feeling of peaceful contentment washed over me. In that moment, I would not have changed a single thing.

You see, last August I met four wonderful women at a conference. The conference was created as a way for Christian singles in their 20’s and 30’s to meet other like-minded Christians. Unfortunately, some people felt as though this was their opportunity to meet “the one”, which made it a little bit awkward for some of us. Going in to this conference though, the prayer of my heart was not to meet “the one”, it was to meet Godly women who I not only related to, but who also had the same standards I do. Many call themselves Christians, but few walk in a way that sets the Bible as the ultimate authority in their life.

The conference was 3 days long and by the end of the 2nd day, I still hadn’t met anyone that I really connected with. As I walked past a group of laughing girls, I wished to myself that I was a part of that group. Jokingly, I walked past and said, “I don’t know what you’re laughing at, but I wish I could join!” Expecting nothing more than a smile, they surprised me. They told me what they were laughing at and thankfully, it was a topic I could relate to. Unbeknownst to me, God was answering my prayer right then and there.

We became fast friends, spending nearly every waking moment together from conference workshops, to lunch breaks, to 1am Ihop runs. As we talked, we came to find out that we all lived in different states, and part of me felt as though I’d never see them again. Many tend to enjoy the moment and then forget about it upon departure. However, I’m blessed to say, since August, we’ve managed to stay in touch, not only through web mediums like Facebook and email, but we’ve seen each other in person twice and have an upcoming trip in March.

What’s even crazier, is that six months PRIOR to the conference, we came to find out that we were all at Carnegie Hall for a concert. There we were, in the same building, at the same time, literally across from each other, and God brought us all together again six months later to meet. Talk about God-ordained! He knew the desire of my heart, before I had even asked Him, AND He prepared an answer right before my very eyes.

Reader – Whatever it is you are believing God for, He is more than able to answer our prayers, beyond what we could ask or think. This weekend was such a refreshing reminder that He cares. He cares about our hopes, dreams, and desires. He cares about what matters to us. He cares because He loves us.

Galatians 6:9 says, “And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.” Keep trusting the Lord for what your heart desires. Do right and trust God. He knows what’s best for you, and He knows what we need, even before we do.

Thank You Lord for giving me such amazing friends, and for answering my prayer before I even knew it was a desire of my heart.

Screen shot 2015-01-18 at 4.05.51 PM

Screen shot 2015-01-18 at 4.05.58 PM

Screen shot 2015-01-18 at 2.26.07 AM

Screen shot 2015-01-18 at 4.06.07 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Manda

5 Comments on “Peaceful Contentment

      • I just finished shoveling my car out of 300 sq. ft. of snow, which will partially re-accumulate over night. On days like today, it doesn’t take much for me to start thinking about migrating back south. Don’t give me ideas!

        Maybe you should visit, regardless. I know they’d be happy at the idea.

        On a blog-related note, as you mentioned you have to keep trusting God through the hard times — to keep having faith even when things look bleak. That’s a lot easier said than done. We also have to “feed” it with encouragement from a friend or family to help remind me of God’s mercy, grace and favor, with worship music or scripture.

        Like

      • WOW! That’s certainly a lot of snow. We were thankful to only have 6 inches, though a couple feet might’ve been nice…for about 3 hours anyway. haha

        There are talks of planning a trip up there, possibly sometime in the summer. I’ve heard it’s gorgeous up that way, so I look forward to seeing the sites!

        Thank you for the encouragement. I have found myself listening to worship music more as of late, and just getting lost in His presence. It’s something we don’t often take the time to do, but it’s so healing for our emotions and spiritual being. Amazing what His presence can do!

        Like

  1. Pingback: Boston Escapades – happilyme23

Have a thought? Share it here!

