Fake it until you…break?

“Fake it ’till you make it.”

We’ve all heard this saying. I too have lived my life in such a way that echoes this sentiment. Part of it is because I don’t like wearing my heart on my sleeve, and part of it, is that few people genuinely care what’s going on deep inside.

The unfortunate part, is that sometimes it stops us from being real and it stops us from allowing others to be as well. When I ask someone how they are, unless it’s a close friend, I tend to do it out of formality. We’ve become so desensitized in our culture, that we ask “How are you?” and don’t wait for a real answer. I’ve had people speed walk past me, asking that question. I doubt in those moments, they are looking for any other answer than, “I’m doing great! How are you?”.

This year, I want to be purposeful. When I ask someone, “How are you doing today?”, I don’t want it to be just a formality. I want to know how people are and I want to be there for them.

This world can be a cruel place where few people care – isn’t it time for us to light that spark of caring, in the hopes that spark will become a bright flame?

Be purposeful, friends. There are hurting people in this world, waiting for someone to ask them how they are, and mean it.

Let us be people who care, who ask, and who wait for a real answer.

Manda

3 Comments on “Fake it until you…break?

Have a thought? Share it here!

