The Attractive Conundrum

Recently, I was thinking back to a conversation I had with a friend of mine back in the summer. She was dating someone and unbeknownst to us, he was getting ready to propose. She said that for so many years, she feared she was going to be destined to marry someone she wasn’t physically attracted to. She worried that while he’d be loyal, faithful, and a good provider, she wouldn’t find him attractive. She shared all of this to say, how incredibly blessed she felt that God not only blessed her with all of the above, but added a healthy dose of attraction to the mixture as well.

I chuckled, because I think as women who are waiting for God’s best, that’s a typical “fear” we might deal with. We trust God to bring us someone who loves the Lord, will be faithful, and a good husband and father, but worry if he’s going to meet our hopes of physical attributes. And while looks most definitely aren’t everything, they are a part of what can draw two people together.

Too much reality? I’m just saying it like I see it. 😉

Fast forward to yesterday evening. I was watching a show and one of the male leads just so happens to be a strong leader, good husband, and is easy on the eyes, if you catch my drift. He’s a handsome man who knows how to take charge. I sat there and a part of my heart asked a question. It echoed the same sentiment of my friend.

I heard a quiet voice giving an all-knowing chuckle at my doubts. The Lord quietly spoke to my heart and said, “I can’t wait for you to see who I’ve got planned for you. I’m even more excited than you are for the day you meet him!” Imagine that friends, here I am worried that Father God is going to give me His best, and I won’t be happy with it. How terrible of me to doubt for a second that God would give me someone to spend the rest of my life with, who I’m not ecstatic about.

The same way a parent wants to give their child a gift that causes the child to shriek in excitement and jump up and down for joy, how much more so does our Father God want to give us good gifts that make us do the same?

If you’re reading this tonight, I pray you would hear the same loving voice telling you that His plans are to prosper you and not to harm you. His plans are far beyond what we could ask or think.

Trust Him. He’s the only One Who knows what we need, before we do. He’s got you covered.

It’s time to rest and be at peace. Be still and know that He is God.

Manda

Have a thought? Share it here!

