Realized Potential

“Do you have suggestions on how to help those individuals reach their potential?”

Thanks for asking, Isaac! After I had last posted on potential, I was curious to know if anyone would inquire on how to release the potential that you have inside of you, and how to put it into action. Thankfully, a reader named Isaac asked the question I was hopeful and waiting for.

In my life, I often find myself asking if I’m living up to my full potential. Here are just a few of the ways that have helped me stay on track in my life, that I hope will help you in yours:

Write The Vision Down and Make It Plain:

This is a great life lesson. When writing down goals, write down practical goals that can be accomplished in reasonable amounts of time. Saying, “I want to find a cure for cancer in the next week.” is probably not the most reasonable goal. Now, saying, “I want to study holistic research over the next six months, to see what ways I can prevent cancer and help others prevent and heal from cancer.” is a much more realistic goal.

Write it down. Keep it simple.

Review Goals & Review Timelines:

Every couple of months, I will try to sit down and review the goals I have written down. As I read through them, I will take mental note as to whether or not I’ve accomplished the goal and whether or not the time frame I placed on it is still accurate. Sometimes goals need tweaking and sometimes, you’ll find you’ve accomplished more than you realized. Either way, it’s an important part in the process!

Share Your Goals:

When I’m excited, I will share my goals or desires with those close to me. I’ve found that when we share these goals with those in our lives, it almost secretly cements the goal as one that now needs to be accomplished. If you share your goals with those close to you, they will hopefully encourage you to reach for it. They may not always, but they will probably ask you down the road what happened with the goal you mentioned. It’s a great way to stay accountable to achieve your goals.

Short side note: I’d encourage you to share your goals with the people you believe will spur you on and not tear them down. Don’t allow the dream robbers to put out your fire.

Pray and Ask God:

This is by far the most important part of the entire process. If anyone wants us to reach our full potential most, it is without a doubt, the One Who made us. His thoughts are higher than our thoughts, and likewise, the potential He sees in us, is bigger than what we’d ever expect to accomplish on our own. As you question what your potential is or what you should be striving to achieve, ask the God of the universe what He’s made you for. You have a purpose that only you can fulfill in just the way it’s meant to be fulfilled. God isn’t trying to keep it a secret. Ask Him and He will show you how to begin accomplishing and walking towards fulfilling your potential, one step at a time.

Hope to hear from you reader! Give these steps a try if you’re feeling “stuck”. They continue to help me, and I hope the same for you. 🙂

Make it a great one!

~Manda

 

 

2 Comments on “Realized Potential

  1. Great advice! During my annual goal setting process at work, I usually create S.M.A.R.T. goals. The only think I’d highlight is to make measurable goals. It’s great to track progress and readjust goals and timelines as necessary.

    Merry Christmas,
    Isaac

    Like

    • Thanks Isaac! I’ve heard of S.M.A.R.T. goals before, and I agree. Making measurable goals is so important. I think we’ve all made the mistake of making unrealistic goals and then stopping entirely, instead of reworking them for a more realistic approach.

      Merry Christmas to you and your family as well!

      Like

Have a thought? Share it here!

