The Secret Thief

Life is grand, things are great, and then out of nowhere, it feels like you’re grasping at everything and anything to feel like you measure up. I’ve found it almost humorous how I can go from a season of contentment to a season of full-blown comparison. Anyone else?

These are the moments when it’s most crucial to reflect on what makes you you and what makes you unique. No one else can be me. I’m me and I’m the best me there is. Likewise, you are the best you there is. We all have different passions, different purposes, different callings.

If you try to be who someone else is meant to be, you will never find true joy or contentment. What you will find instead, is that your joy will be robbed, you will always be chasing after something that was never yours to begin with, and you’ll miss the purpose for which you were made.

Screen shot 2014-12-13 at 8.52.43 AMEach time I feel like I’m starting to chase someone else’s dream, I’m reminded that I need to dial it back. I’m reminded that I have so very much to be thankful for. Had I followed in the steps of others in years past, I wouldn’t be who I am today and I definitely wouldn’t be where I am today.

Possibly the most crucial lesson we learn on this earth is how to be content regardless of what we do or do not have.

When we learn to stop chasing after other people’s dreams and learn to live in and chase our own, joy happens. When we learn to trust God, contentment happens.

Today, I’ll be learning again how to be fully at peace and content in my current season of life. I’ll stop grasping at other people’s dreams and instead, remember my own.

Reader: You were created for extraordinary things. The more you sit and wallow in what you don’t have, the further away you become from getting the things you dream of. Take some time today to reflect on your goals, dreams, and hopes. You’ll be surprised at how quickly your attitude changes.

~Manda

Have a thought? Share it here!

