I Don’t Play Dead

No good deed goes unpunished.

I never knew what that statement meant until 24 hours ago. I’m constantly amazed at how you can sacrifice and give so much of your life. Months upon months of your life, sacrificing, giving, loving. And then the very people who begged of you to help are the very ones that throw daggers at your heart.

If nothing else, I have grown in the love I have for my Lord, Who gave up everything for a world He desperately loved, so much so, He was willing to be brutally beaten and put on a cross, for people who might never accept Him. True Love died on a cross and True Love rose again.

Thank You Jesus that vengeance is Yours. I thank You that you see everything and You will judge it. You will separate those who are true Christians from those who say they are simply to feel good about themselves.

Actions speak louder than words folks. No deed, no heart attitude, no lie, no deception goes hidden from His eyes. Likewise, every sacrifice, every good deed, every bit of love poured out for the broken world around you is noticed and remembered.

Chin up reader, there will be better days ahead.

~Manda

5 Comments on “I Don’t Play Dead

  1. 1) Interesting phrase: No Good Deed Goes Unpunished. What, then, is our incentive as individuals to perform good works? If I left it at that, I’d argue it’s not very economical for me to continue doing good works. So, how does a Christian reconcile that phrase and the need to live Christ-like? I know I struggle with it sometimes but I think it comes down to my attitude: I recognize I live in a fallen world and these situations will come up, but I continue to love and support the people around me. It doesn’t mean letting people steam roll you over. Sometimes loving someone means giving distance. It’s especially difficult when the hurt comes at the hand of someone close.

    2) I kept re-reading the third paragraph. And I struggled getting past the first sentence. I don’t often associate Jesus as being vengeful. In what ways is Jesus vengeful? Almost always I think of him as a redeemer. So instead of doing something to someone else because an injustice was done to me, I’ve found more often than not that He makes me whole. And what better way to get justice then for someone else to see how great you’re doing despite their wanton behavior or attitude towards you. I do think God of the OT was a vengeful god.

    -Isaac

    Like

    • Isaac,

      Very interesting comments. Thanks for sharing!

      I will say, to begin with, you really don’t know the context in which I was sharing this. So while I do appreciate your thoughts, I must tell you that you don’t have the full picture. I would ask you to consider that before jumping to any possible conclusions.

      Secondly, Hebrews 13:8 says that God is the same yesterday, today, and forever. Thus, I believe it’s safe to say that while we are under the new covenant which is a covenant of grace, God still protects His own and if that means removing protection from people who are not true Christians, rather wolves in sheep’s clothing, I don’t think that contradicts His nature in the New Testament at all.

      I have decided to allow God to fight my battles, which was really more what this post was trying to express. We are not to take revenge or vengeance out on people, rather, we are to sit back and trust God and let Him handle it.

      Hope that helps clear up any confusion. =)

      Best,
      ~Manda

      Like

      • Just as a follow up, the statement I made about “no good deed goes unpunished” was not me saying I would stop doing good deeds. It was however a statement to express how I currently feel in a heart-wrenching situation going on right now.

        Like

  2. Absolutely didn’t mean for you to think I was jumping to a conclusion – just sharing a thought. In retrospect, #1 reads better without my personal anecdote.

    This statement summarized things well, “I have decided to allow God to fight my battles.” Great attitude to have, in general.

    -Isaac

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I really do appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts. Forgive me if I came across as harsh in any way. Just wanted to clarify what I was trying to say. Hope to hear more from you!

      Like

Have a thought? Share it here!

