People Pleaser

Are you one of them? Do you live your life to please others, never really stopping to wonder if you’re happy?

I’m guilty of that. There are people in my life that I love dearly, and sometimes I find myself doing things to ensure their happiness above my own. I’m not saying not to sacrifice for those you love, but there’s a difference between doing it because you want to and doing it because you feel it’s your duty to.

Doing it because you want to:

  • Brings joy
  • Brings fulfillment
  • Brings peace
  • Brings blessing

Doing it because you feel it’s your duty to:

  • Brings sorrow
  • Brings pain
  • Brings unhappiness
  • Brings unrest

The next time you’re given the opportunity to “people please” think back on this list and ask yourself, “Am I doing it because I genuinely want to, or because I feel it’s my duty.” Depending on the answer, you may find you react differently. The most important One to please is the Lord. He should always come first, despite what others may think we should or shouldn’t do.

Learning how to please an audience of ONE, will bring freedom and peace. Trying to please everyone will only bring you stress and unrest.

Screen shot 2014-10-16 at 6.50.04 PMChoose wisely.

Love,

Manda

2 Comments on “People Pleaser

Have a thought? Share it here!

