Looking Back

I’ve had this sitting in my drafts for a few weeks now. After having coffee with an old friend tonight, this post seems very fitting for how I currently feel. Hope you can relate!

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Screen shot 2014-10-10 at 12.02.37 AM

Sometimes memories can be both a blessing and a curse. Memories remind of us the people we once were and usually, we smile looking back because we see how far we’ve come. Sometimes however, we may grieve over people we’ve lost or even, if we’ve lost ourselves in the process.

Personally, I’m very thankful I’m not the same person I was years ago. Honestly, I’m thankful I’m not the person I was at the beginning of the year. Growth is something we should all strive for. I hope that 6 months from now, I’ll be glad I’m not the same person I am now because I’ve grown even more.

Ever so often though, I’ll glance back at my 20-year old self. I’ll chuckle and think “Girlfriend, where on earth was your head?” But then, there’s a part of my heart that still misses portions of that 20-year old girl. I miss feeling carefree and as though I had just enough responsibility that I felt like an adult (without really having anything overwhelming that I was responsible for).

Every year brings a new chapter, a new beginning, a clean slate – but it also brings with it much change. For the most part, I’m looking forward to the New Year with a fresh start.

People do change for the better, and for that, I’m thankful.

 

2 Comments on “Looking Back

    • Absolutely. There are certainly moments where that may happen. I’m personally learning it’s okay to have those moments, as long as they don’t hold you back from moving forward. If we live in the “what-ifs” of life, we may never be truly open to the paths set before us. I’m just an email away if you ever want to talk!

      Liked by 1 person

Have a thought? Share it here!

