Anger Put To Motion

Oh boy, where do I begin? This past weekend started off as quite the doozy. For some reason, Saturday morning rolled around and while I was grateful for the time off from work to allow myself to be refreshed, I was extremely cranky. I had a lot on my mental “to-do” list and was just plain grumpy.

In fact, to those that got in my way, they probably saw a face like this:

Okay, maybe not quite that bad, but that’s how I felt on the inside. After running some errands with my wonderful mom, I was still feeling pretty miserable. Part of me felt tired, part of me felt angry, and the other part just wanted to cry and hit something at the same time. So, I did what any normal twenty-three year old does when she feels that way.

I ate went to the gym and worked out like a mad woman. I even took a picture for proof. Ladies and gents, please know that this is not a normal workout for me. I’m usually spent by mile 3.

Screen shot 2014-10-05 at 10.28.02 PM

That treadmill felt my anger. With each sprint uphill, the anger slowly melted away. I allowed myself to turn my negative, crappy attitude, into a positive experience. The last few weeks, I’ve probably allowed my negative emotions to get the best of me. However, it was definitely a success to not only deal with those emotions in a healthy way, but in a way that also benefits my body in the long run (no pun intended).

In months past, I probably would have sat down on the couch in front of the television and eaten foods that would’ve just made me feel even worse. Just being honest folks. I’m thankful to say, I think I’ve come a long way from that. I still enjoy my cup of feel-good ice cream or some other comfort food, but going to the gym and using my cranky attitude to motivate me was a major success in my book.

And the fact I had just purchased some cute gym clothes helped just a little bit. Who says you can’t work up a sweat and look stylish doing it? 😉

Reader, don’t let your circumstances define you. Ultimately, you choose whether or not to be happy. The moment you allow others to define when and where you are not happy, you’ve given up control. It’s not up to them, it’s up to you and your choices.

Love,

Manda

3 Comments on “Anger Put To Motion

Have a thought? Share it here!

