What Love Does

Hey reader! First and foremost, I apologize for the lack of posts this past week. It was a crazy busy week, for a few reasons.

The main and most important reason for the busyness was that my family and I became a foster family to two sweet little girls as of this past Friday. We don’t know how long they’ll be with us, but it’s been a blessing to be a part of their lives and have them in ours.

Some Things I’ve Learned:

  • I can live with less sleep than I might like to
  • Patience is a virtue and grows quickly when a two and a half year old is attached to you at the hip every moment of the day
  • When those little girls laugh, it makes every moment worthwhile
  • Sometimes children don’t know how to express how they feel, but sometimes all they really need is to sit quietly in your arms knowing they are loved and that they matter
  • When temper tantrums are thrown, it’s usually for a much deeper issue than the one that pushed their buttons initially
  • Children are vulnerable and need protecting more than they’d like to admit
  • Children are resilient, loving, forgiving, and precious gifts
  • I would do anything to keep a smile on their face and peace in their heart

On a slightly funny note, the first real moment I had alone (other than when the girls were sleeping) was getting ready for church Sunday morning. I found myself humming and didn’t pay much attention to what I was actually singing. Then, I stopped and listened closer to what I began to hum, only to start laughing, as I had been singing “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” the first moment I had alone. Boy oh boy, is that proof that I had spent the entire weekend with little ones!

This was the first weekend of this incredible journey. It was tiring at points and so joyous at others. These children are a blessing, and my goal, is that by the time they move on, they will undoubtably know that.

4 Comments on “What Love Does

  1. Welcome to the world of fostering. It is an amazing journey full of hope and promises and laughter and sadness and many many many sleepless nights. Just remember to take care of yourself in the process and ask for a break when you need one. I speak from experience.

    Like

    • Thank you for the wise words and the welcome! I definitely have already experienced some of those 3-hours-of-sleep nights, but like you said, it’s worth it. Hope to hear more from you and your experiences!

      Like

Have a thought? Share it here!

