When Worlds Collide

There are days when worlds collide and few things matter except what happens in that moment. The sadness, anger, confusion, or hurt of it all comes flooding back in that instant. A little voice whispers, “Will you give in to it? Will you let it take over you again?” and a strong voice must answer back, “No, I won’t.”

Over the last few weeks, that battle has occurred more frequently than I’d like to admit. Emotions from the past have come back with a vengeance. Worst fears knocking at my door, old dreams that died a long time ago and are begging to be revived, or people who are loved being removed from the safety of my arms – many different worlds colliding at once.

And in this, I must still sit, quietly before my Lord, knowing that in an ever-changing, crazy, and confusing world, He never changes. Thank God that I can trust in that, for it is the anchor of my soul. He can be trusted to never betray me. He can be trusted to give me hope when all seems lost. He can be safety and protection when I can no longer be. He is the same yesterday, today, and forevermore.

IMG_0825

In all things – He is always faithful. Sometimes that is the only thing I can cling to, but that one thing, will always be enough.

 

Have a thought? Share it here!

