On Singleness

Have you ever cried yourself to sleep because of how badly your heart ached for something? Whether it be a person, a thing, or a dream that suddenly has been shattered.

Last year was a rough year for me, in regards to embracing being single. Earlier this year, I told asked the Lord to give me 6 months of singleness. I wanted to enjoy it and didn’t want the distraction of a man in my life. Truth be told reader, I thoroughly enjoyed those 6 months. I’m on month 8 now and honestly, there’s a part of me that doesn’t want a relationship. I’ve so enjoyed being a free bird, dedicating time to passions of mine, and having weekends free to spend time with family and close friends.

Being content has been such a strange feeling to me. It’s almost like I feel as though something is wrong with me. In this society that tells us we always need to have a man on our arm or we’re not worth anything…I’ve thought to myself, I’m really quite okay with who I am, with or without a boyfriend.”  It’s such a wonderful feeling to be content. There’s nothing quite like it in the world.

If you’re going through a dry spell, feeling as though you’ve been waiting and seeing nothing on the horizon – be patient. Good things take time and believe me, when they arrive, you won’t care how long it took, because you’ll see that it was worth the wait.

Be content. Live your life to the fullest. And don’t allow a single day to pass without thanking God for the breath in your lungs, for every day is a gift in itself.

There is hope on the horizon.

There is hope on the horizon.

Have a great one, reader!

Have a thought? Share it here!

