New Discoveries

Sometimes we begin on a trail, expecting for one thing to happen, only to realize later, that there were many wonderful things we’d learn on that trail. It typically is above and beyond what we could’ve imagined.

Currently, I’m training to run a 5k race for an awesome organization. In the process, I’m raising funds and bringing awareness to others of what really goes on in the sex trafficking world. The funds will go to a restoration home where the girls who are rescued will be able to receive counseling, healing, and therapy. It’s an honor to be working towards such a great cause and it’s only a small bonus that I get to get more in shape in the process.

I started working out a few months ago, more regularly than I ever have before. Through it, I’ve learned more about being disciplined and appreciating the strong body we’ve been blessed with. When I decided to run this 5k, I thought that it would only be to raise money for a great cause. Through the process, I’ve learned about many other people who are interested in this cause, who are proud of what I’m doing, or who have had their eyes opened to what goes on in the world we live in.

I’ve also grown in appreciation for marathon runners. Whoever said that running in the gym is the same as outside was VERY misled. I’m already feeling the soreness set into my calves from today’s 2 mile run. Okay, who are we kidding, it was more of a walk/run. But I’m getting there!

Screen shot 2014-07-29 at 8.55.20 PM

In the process of running, I’m also getting the chance to adventure into different parks that I never would have taken the chance to explore. The park I ran at today has been open for the past two years, at least. I never new there was such a cute pond on the running trail. It was almost like God’s little way of saying, “I knew someday you’d be running here and would appreciate this.” Thanks Lord. =)

Embrace the trail you’re on reader – you never know when you’ll spot something that makes your heart jump in all the right ways. Life is full of adventure and it’s worth every second of the journey.

 

2 Comments on “New Discoveries

  1. I love this little post 🙂 thanks for this and good luck with your marathon, it’s an awesome cause that definitely needs more attention xx

    Like

Have a thought? Share it here!

