I’m Not Sorry

“I’m sorry” is a phrase that typically comes out of every woman’s mouth when someone else should be apologizing.

How many times have you apologized to the man who bumped into you at the supermarket or that time someone came down the aisle and you moved for them? How many times do we apologize to our bosses when they give a different idea than ours or when we reach across someone for an item.

I have a question that begs to be asked: Why are we sorry?

We are not at fault for the man who bumped into US in the supermarket. We are not at fault for looking at cosmetics at the same time someone else needs to get through. We are not at fault for having different opinions than our bosses – that’s why they hired us!

Why then do we always feel the need to apologize? Is it because society has taught us that we are the weaker being who is always at fault? Has the media told us that regardless of what someone does to us, it’s because of something we did to cause that action?

Oh so often do I resort to those two words, “I’m sorry” when I think I’m being polite. Often do I say “I’m sorry” even though I’m not at fault, simply to make the other person feel better. However, I’ve come to the realization that those two words ought only to be used when I am actually at fault. Otherwise, I’m not sorry.

I’m not sorry sir that you weren’t aware of your surroundings and almost knocked me over at the store today. I’m not sorry ma’am that I like the same cosmetics as you. I’ll politely move and say “have a great day”, but I won’t apologize for being in the same place as you. To those of you who have overpowering bosses, they should be thanking you for giving them a different perspective. You shouldn’t feel the need to apologize because of a different idea. If you were always agreeing, they wouldn’t need you!

Ladies – It’s time we realize that we have a voice and a powerful one at that. Stop apologizing when you’ve done nothing wrong. Stop thinking you are a lesser being and thus, thinking everything must be your fault.

And to any man who disagrees that women are a “lesser” being – try giving birth. I think that’ll even out the playing fields.

We all have different qualities and characteristics that make us need each other, and that’s not a bad thing! However, when we’re training our female generations to apologize for things that are not their fault, we teach them that they are the victim and that they are always the cause for the problem.

They are not. We are not. You are not.

I’m not sorry and that’s okay.

Have a thought? Share it here!

